Corral Your Desktop Icons

fencesOften times I need a temporary place to keep a file or document, so I simply put it on my desktop. As such, my desktop screen now looks like a graveyard of icons. I’ve got so many icons, that it takes me up to one minute to find the icon I’m looking for. What a mess! I try to group icons by category and function on my desktop, but whenever I plug my laptop into a docking station or connect to a video projector my screen resizes and the icons are moved around randomly.

Luckily, I found a very cool freeware application called Stardock Fences. It’s a great application that allows me to sort out and group my desktop icons into small bounded regions on my screen. The image below shows an example of what Fences looks like on your desktop screen:

fences_image

It’s both functional and aesthetically pleasing, and very easy to use. In fact, you can easily hide all the desktop icons by double clicking on the main desktop screen, and bring them back by double-clicking again. And best of all, it’s free!

So if you’re a neat freak and want to group and contain all your desktop icons, I highly suggest you give Fences a try!

Leave a Reply

