Getting rid of GoogleUpdate.exe

mechanicI’m a stickler for keeping my system running at top speed, so I hate it when unnecessary background applications are running on my system. One such process, GoogleUpdate.exe, seems to appear frequently on my Vista desktop PC. I did a quick Google search (ironically) and found the answer for removing this pesky background process.

Basically, you need to bring up the Task Scheduler on your system and delete or disable the Google Update process. On my Vista System, I went to:

Control panel -> Administrative tools -> Task scheduler -> Task scheduler library

and deleted the GoogleUpdate scheduled process. I also went into Task Manager and manually deleted the running GoogleUpdate.exe process. So the next time I reboot my system, I shouldn’t see GoogleUpdate.exe running again!

Leave a Reply

