Monitoring CPU Temperature

hotWhen you buy a new Intel processor, they usually come with a stock CPU fan for cooling purposes. I usually don’t use these fans on my Desktop systems since they seem to be rather noisy. Instead, I use a fan by Zalman that has larger radiator fins and a much quieter fan system. I also have a variable switch connected to the fan where I can adjust the speed from outside of the case. That way, I can turn down the fan to keep my home office as quiet as possible.

As such, I do have some concerns that I could be turning down the fan speed TOO much, and burn up my CPU. This is especially true with my newly installed Quad Core processor, since I have no idea how hot they run. So, I hunted around and found a nifty free utility called CoreTemp that displays the current CPU core temp in a dialog window and/or in the taskbar area. A really nice tool for monitoring your CPU temperature, which is especially useful if you’re running some intense games and need to know if your taxing your processor too much.

coretemp

Leave a Reply

