I’m Liking The Speed of My New Quad Processor

fastI recently did a speed test converting a 45-minute DVR-MS video file to WMV format for my Zune media player, and I was pleased with the results. On my previous Desktop PC system, I was running an Intel Core 2 Duo (1.66 GHz) processor and I recently upgraded my Motherboard and CPU to a Intel Core 2 Quad (2.33 GHz) processor. Here’s the results from a quick speed test I performed:

  • Intel Core 2 Duo – 60 minutes conversion time
  • Intel Core 2 Quad – 20 minutes conversion time

That is a tremendous speed improvement in my book! The conversion software that I use (DVRMSToolbox with FFMPEG/Windows Media Encoder 9) utilizes all four core processors during the conversion, and the little extra memory in my new system seemed to help also. So if you do any heavy, time-consuming processing I highly recommend upgrading to a Quad processor!

Leave a Reply

