Comcast Set Top Boxes On Their Way…

digital_cableI really didn’t want to do it, but I had no choice but to order a Set Top Box (STB) for use with my Desktop PC’s TV Tuner card. Luckily it was free from Comcast (my cable TV provider), but adding in a STB will just introducing another possible point of failure in my TV recording procedure. For more details on why I need to get a STB, you can read my previous posting.

Along with the STB, I also ordered an MCE Remote Control (with IR emitters) from Amazon.com to work in conjunction with Vista Media Center for changing the channels on the STB for scheduled recordings. I found a web site the explains a step-by-step procedure on how to do this, so once all my hardware arrive I’ll give it a shot and will report back on my success or failure… wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

