Microsoft Windows 7 – Worth Upgrading To?

win7In the past, I’ve always upgraded to the latest Microsoft Windows OS when it became available, usually within 4-5 weeks of the product launch date. I’m currently running Windows Vista 32-bit on my main desktop PC, and I’m complete happy with its performance (4 GB RAM, Intel Quad Core Processor). Just for kicks, I’ve  been running the beta version of Windows 7 OS on my 4 year-old Dell Latitude laptop for about 4 months now. I’m amazed that Win 7 runs so well on my aged laptop (2 GB memory, older Celeron 1.6 GHz Celeron processor), however, I don’t see any revolutionary updated compared to Windows Vista.

Sure, lots of people complain about how crappy Vista is, but I haven’t come across any major issues. I’ve got Vista tuned to run at top speed and it works great for what I do.

A few days ago, I got a notice from Microsoft inviting me to pre-order Windows 7 (for an October 22nd release date) for one-half the regular retail price. So, I can get the Home edition for $50 US or the Professional version for $100 US. This is nice, however, I don’t see any big reason to upgrade from Vista. Does Win 7 run twice as fast as the current Vista? Does it consume half the memory? Does it have any REALLY cool features? If not, then there probably isn’t a big compelling reason for me to upgrade.

Leave a Reply

