Switching to an Apple Mac

Yep, I switched from a Windows 7 machine to an Apple iMac yesterday. As such I plan to write several postings explaining why I made the switch, and how I’m handling the transition. So if you’re interested, come back to my blog on a routine basis to see how everything is going.

But first I need to answer this question: Why does everyone who switch from a PC to a Mac have to blog about it? Very good question, as this seems to be a true statement. If you do a Google search for “switch to Mac” you’ll find lots and lots of blog postings and YouTube videos documenting the movement to the Mac platform. The majority of these postings don’t really give a definitive answer to why people made the switch, but rather vague statements like, “… it just works!” or, “… it works much better”.

As for myself, my Intel Quad-Core Windows 7 machine was working just fine and I didn’t have any major issues or problems using it. I’m a pro at tweaking PC systems, so my machine was running in top form with no major delays or slowness. I primarily used my PC for the following tasks:

  • Email (MS-Outlook)
  • Calendar & Tasks (MS-Outlook)
  • Internet browsing (Firefox)
  • Web site development
  • Smartphone (Palm WebOS) development
  • Some Microsoft Windows app development
  • TV video recording and processing for my Zune Media Player
  • Light document editing and minor spreadsheet work

So what compelled me to switch from something that was working just fine to an Apple Mac computer? It was a lot of little things that added up over time and that forced me to take the plunge into Apple-land, which I’ll  try to summarize:

  • While attending a Palm WebOS developer conference, I noticed that all of the Palm presenters were using MacBook Pro machines. None of them seemed to be using a Windows-based laptop or machine. Their presentations (made with the app called KeyNote) looked great, and they seemed to be running various apps very quickly and painlessly.
  • I’m an old UNIX user who really liked the power of UNIX shell programming. Since the Mac OSX is based on a UNIX kernel, opening a terminal window and issuing UNIX commands was readily available.
  • My wife recently switch from a desktop PC (running Vista) over to a MacBook Pro and just loved it. I was able to play with her system a bit, and saw how easily it integrated with her iPod Touch and iPad devices.
  • My wife also uses a Virtual Emulator called Parallels which allows her to run Windows apps on her Mac very painlessly and rather quickly.
  • While traveling on business trips, I noticed that a lot of people are using MacBooks at hotels, coffee shops, and airports. There must be a reason why this is the case.
  • I’m a big gadget freak and like to investigate the latest technology.

So you can see from above I didn’t have any HUGE reason to change from a PC to a Mac. I really can’t complain that Windows 7 OS was slow or crashing a lot. Nor can I say I really hate my Windows machine. My biggest reason for switching is that I wanted to try out the latest technology and work with something fresh and different. I was actually getting a bit bored with Windows 7 and wanted to try something more exciting. Of course I could have switched to a Linux OS with very little expense, but I wanted to stay with a some what mainstream OS and not have to deal with video drivers, etc. that I would certainly need to do with a Linux OS (as I’ve experienced in the past).

So why am I blogging about my switch? Well, I find switching a very interesting adventure and think that others might want to read about my experiences in the switch. I certainly like reading other people’s blog posting regarding their switching, so I thought I’d return the favor. As such, if you’re interested on this topic just stay tuned for more postings as I explore the Mac universe!

Leave a Reply

