DIY system builder, no more

When I was at Fry’s Electronics yesterday picking up a TrendNet Wireless Gaming Adapter, I walked through the PC component and parts aisle and it suddently hit me: I’ll never have to buy another PC component again. Since I have an Apple iMac (which is an integrated system) I won’t be buying any replacement components. No more monitors, video cards, hard drives, DVD drives, PCIe cards, Power supplies, case fans, motherboards, CPUs, cases, etc. I was a little sad, but also grateful that I didn’t have to mess with all of that stuff anymore. If my iMac stops working or has a problem, I just take it down to my local Apple Store for free repair (with my AppleCare protection for 3 years).

I can remember all the times when I’ve driven back and forth to Fry’s because some component I bought just didn’t work or was incompatible with my motherboard, etc. Also, having to send back dead devices or PCIe cards when ordering online. Just a big hassle, gone for good now.

One thing that I did order recently was an external hard drive to be used with the Time Machine app to backup my iMac’s data files. I went to my favorite online store (Newegg.com) and found this little gem:

The product description on the Newegg.com web site stated that this hard drive was pre-formatted for the Mac and for use with Time Machine. Who says you can’t find Mac products? This hard drive has both a USB 2.0 and Firewire 800 interface, so I’m planning to use the Firewire 800 connection for the fastest possible data transfer with my iMac.

The only other thing I see upgrading on my iMac might be the RAM memory (which can be done easily through the small access door at the bottom of the monitor screen), but with the 8 GB of RAM I already have, I don’t thing I’ll need to do that upgrade anytime soon.

So, it’s a little sad that I won’t be able to upgrade my computer system whenever I want, but that may be a blessing in disguise… 🙂

Leave a Reply

