At week two with my iMac and still lovin it!

I’m nearing the two week mark with my new iMac and I just love it. The keyboard is feeling really good, and I just love the snappiness of the system and the bright clear LED monitor. It’s dead quiet, and does everything I need it to do. In fact, I haven’t had to use my previous Windows 7 desktop PC for any of my real work. The only reason I have it still turned on, is to record TV shows for my Zune HD using the built-in TV Tuner card and Windows Media Center Software. I’m hoping to rectify that soon with an Apple iPod Touch and an EyeTV HD recording system for my iMac.

So after two weeks, here are some noticable differences between my previous Win7 system and the iMac:

  • It’s taken me a while to get use to using CMD+C/V for copy/paste on the Mac instead of CTRL+C/V. (Muscle memory is hard to untrain!)
  • You can’t highlight a file or folder in Finder (equivalent to File Explorer) and press the delete key to delete it. You have to either drag it to the trash can or right-click on it and select “Move to Trash”.
  • Apple’s equivalent “Office” software (Pages, Numbers, Keynote) are much, much easier to use instead of Word, Excel, and Powerpoint. You don’t have all the bells and whistles as Microsoft Office, but you have enough to get the job done quickly and with professional results.
  • Saving an image from a web site to my iMac can be done simply by dragging off the web browser and onto my desktop. No more right-click-copy-paste as I did with my PC.
  • The Mac’s Automator software is great at automating certain operations and functions. Much better than trying to create DOS batch files.
  • My iMac has been running just fine for the last two weeks with only one reboot (due to a system update). I have no desire to reboot, which in contrast I needed to do on my PC routinely to clear memory, etc.

So I have zero buyer’s remorse at this time and am a happy Mac user. I’ve got two Mac/iPhone/iPad programming books sitting on my desk, along with two Mac OS X Beginner’s Guides to help me unlock the full potential of my iMac. The next thing you know, I’ll be putting the Apple logo decal (that came with my system) on my car bumper… 🙂

Leave a Reply

