Acorn – My new graphics app!

Since moving from a Windows 7 PC over to my Apple iMac, I’ve been struggling with finding a suitable replacement for my favorite graphics App: Paint.net. This freeware app only runs on the Microsoft Windows OS, so I couldn’t continue using it on my iMac. I tried out Gimp, Seashore, Pinta, etc. and none of them really worked for me. Either they were cumbersome to use (e.g., Gimp runs on top of X11) or they didn’t have the features I needed, or they just crashed a lot. Pixelmator was one that had the most promise, but I found it a bit difficult to use and it crashed way too much for a paid app.

Finally, I came across an app called Acorn which seems to fit the bill for my needs. It’s a Mac app that can be purchased from the Mac App Store for $29.99. I was able to download a trial version from the developer’s web site, and the app really works well. It’s also very easy to use and most importantly, the developer has some great tutorials on his/her web site. In my opinion that is a smart thing, and it helps users get up to speed on using Acorn for the most common activities.

So, I’m going to keep using the trial version until it expires and if all works out well, I’ll purchase it from the App Store.

Leave a Reply

