Love my new Android Tablet!

As you can see from my previous postings, I’ve become a new Android OS fan. Last month I bought a Samsung Nexus S 4G Google phone (Sprint) running the Gingerbread version of Android, and just a few days ago I picked up an Acer Iconia Tab A500 Android Tablet running Honeycomb. Now, I have to say that for the last two years I’ve been using an iMac 27″ Desktop machine at home along with an iPod Touch as my media player (video, primarily) and an iPhone 4 for company business, but I’m now an Android convert.

I really didn’t see the need to getting a tablet device, as my smartphone usually can cover my mobile needs and slip comfortably in my pocket. However, when Staples offered the $100 off coupon on its tablets, it was just too good to pass up. I decided to get the Acer Iconia Tab mainly for the price, as it was the cheapest of the available tablets at Staples where I could use the $100 coupon.

I do have to say this tablet is a fantastic mobile device! The Iconia has a beautiful 10.1″ screen which is bright and colorful. The tablet itself is very fast, and shows no hesitation or slowness when switching between screens and/or apps. And there are lots and lots of Honeycomb-ready apps in the Android App Marketplace.

What I like best about the tablet, is the USB port present in the side of the device. I copied some mp4 videos to a standard USB Flashdrive and plugged it into the Iconia’s USB port, and was able to play them using the built-in video player. Perfect feature for when I go on travel and don’t want to spend time copying video files from my iMac over to the Iconia’s Flash Storage Drive.

The tablet is also really slim and lightweight (which is in opposition to what I’ve read in online reviews, where users complain the Iconia is too thick and heavy). Sure, it may not be as thin or light as the Apple iPad 2, but it’s definitely a slim and lightweight device (check one out yourself).

Now, I’m a real stickler for detail and fit-n-finish, and I have to say the Acer Iconia is one fine piece of equipment. In fact, I’d go as far as to say I think the Android Honeycomb OS in conjunction with the Acer tablet hardware is much better than the original Apple iPad and iPad2 products. You’ve got a lot of freedom with what you can load on the Android tablet and what you have access to which really makes a big difference for power users.

So, for now I’m really enjoying my Acer Iconia Tab and I’m planning to take it with me on my next business trip. I’ll have to report back how well it worked from that trip, and later when I’ve used it for a few months.

Leave a Reply

