EyeTV Recorded Shows: Upgraded Resolution for Nexus 7 Tablet

If you’ve read my previous posts, you’ll know that I use a device called EyeTV HD to record TV shows on my iMac. The software that drives this recording hardware will automatically export the recorded show in a format that is smaller and viewable on a iPhone, iPod Touch, or Apple TV. Since my new Nexus 7 Tablet has a screen resolution of 1280×800, I wanted to update the resolution of my converted videos so they look as good as possible on my Nexus 7. I started by using the “Apple TV 2” (1280×720) setting in the EyeTV HD software, but the picture quality  just wasn’t very good (especially when compared to the free Transformers movie that came with my N7).

So, I decided to use an Applescript to customize the video conversion of my recordings. Fortunately, EyeTV has a hook where it will call a script called RecordingDone.scrpt after a TV show has completed recording. It is in this script I added my Applescript commands to process the video. I basically use a freeware product called Handbrake to convert the video from MPEG-2 format to MPEG-4 format with a resolution of 1280×720 HD. The Handbrake software is normally driven by a standard user-interface, so I used an add-on product called HandbrakeCLI to do the processing in batch mode.

Below is my RecordingDone.scrpt script:

Now, I have to warn you that the resultant MP4 video files are rather large (about 2 GB for a 1 hour show), which in my case is ok since I normally stream these videos from my iMac in my home office to my Nexus 7 tablet on my home WiFi Network. I’m sure you could optimize the Handbrake settings to reduce the file size a bit in lieu of video display quality.

Leave a Reply

