Trade in your old phones to AT&T for $100 each!

Screen Shot 2013-05-19 at 11.49.40 AMAT&T has a new promotion running currently where you can trade in your old smartphones for $100 store credit. Even if your old phone is worth less than $100 in their system, they will round the value up to a minimum of $100!

After buying my HTC One recently, I was planning to send in my previous Sprint HTC 4G EVO LTE phone into HTC for their $100 Trade Up offer, but with that I would have to package up my phone for shipping, get postal insurance, etc. and I would need to wait 4-5 weeks before getting a VISA credit card back from them. It was much easier for me to just take my phone into my local AT&T Store and have them do the paperwork and give me $100 credit (which I had them apply to my AT&T cellular account).

I also rummaged through my desk drawer and found 4 other old smartphones that were eligible for trade in:

  • Sprint Blackberry Curve 8330 (The oldest phone of the bunch, which still powered up after charging)
  • Verizon Palm Pre Plus (which I got from a Palm developer’s conference)
  • Verizon Palm Pre 2 (another phone from a developer’s conference)
  • AT&T HTC Surround (which I bought off eBay a few years ago for testing Windows Phone 7 apps)

All of these phones were rather useless to me now, so it was great being able to trade them in completely hassle free to AT&T and get credit. In the end, I got a total of $500 which helped to offset the $150 ETF fee I paid to cancel my Sprint contract and jump to AT&T.

You can check out the value of your phone from this web link below. I think the $100 round-up offer will expire at the end of this month, so take advantage of it soon if you can.

https://tradein-program.att.com/home.php5?c=en-us

Leave a Reply

