Acer A500 Tablet Lives On!

acer_a500

My first tablet was the Acer A500 Iconia running the “Honeycomb” Android OS 3.0, which has a 10.1″ screen, full-sized USB port, and a mini-HDMI port. This tablet has worked great as my laptop replacement around the house, allowing me to view web pages, check emails, play games, and watch movies. I normally use my smaller Nexus 7 Google Tablet when I leave the house (because of it’s size), but the Acer tablet is still my first choice at home.

Since Acer has decided to not support future OS upgrades past “Ice Cream Sandwich” Android OS 4.0, some developers have taken it upon themselves to create custom ROMs which can downloaded and installed on the Acer A500, extending it’s life with the latest Android OSes. For the last 6 months I’ve been using the ROM called CM10_Flex_V6Supercharged_Rev3.4 which is a version of JellyBean 4.1.2, and it has been running just fine. Today, I decided to upgrade to a newer ROM called TegraOwners JB M42 ROM V4 which is JellyBean 4.3.1. Fortunately, the Google Play Store will reinstall all my previous apps automatically when I sign in my tablet under my previous Google Account. So after 15 minutes or so, I should have all my apps and data restores and I can take my time adjusting the basic settings to my liking.

It’s great that these developers are working hard to bring these custom ROMs to the general public so we can keep our older devices running with the latest Android OSes.

The Acer A500 tablet lives on!

Leave a Reply

