Filtering Chinese Spam Emails

Lately, I’ve been getting lots of spam emails with Chinese text and an attached Excel file (ALERT: Phishing). I’ve been searching for a solution for my Mac OSX Mail app to automatically filter out these emails and dump them into my Junk folder, but there’s not an obvious solution. I tried filtering the “Content-Type” and “Content-Class” of the email, but no luck. I finally came across this web blog page where the blogger had a brilliant solution: His email filter searches for a few common Chinese characters in the message body to identify an email written in Chinese. Bingo! I’ve implemented the method below, and it seems to work. In the Apple Mail app, select “Preferences” and then click the “Rules” tab, and make a new filter. Add the following rule checks:

Screen Shot 2014-09-01 at 9.11.22 AM

 

Here are the Chinese characters that I search for:

的 OR 是 OR 否 OR 要 OR 不

Now, hopefully no more Chinese spam emails!

 

Leave a Reply

