Upgraded to the Samsung Galaxy S6 Smartphone

images-1I’ve been using an HTC One M7 phone for the last two years on the AT&T network, and I just loved it. The phone’s build quality was great, as well as the vibrant screen and fast CPU. The only thing I didn’t like about the HTC One M7 was the terrible camera, which always produced blurry pictures for me. But just like anything, after two years technology can become obsolete. In addition, the lithium ion battery in smartphone seem to lose their charging ability after the two year mark, and as such most people will upgrade to the next greatest thing.

For me, I’m no different. However, my next phone would have to have substantial improvements over my HTC One M7 to warrant an upgrade. I originally intended to upgrade to the HTC One M9, since I liked my M7 so much. However, when HTC presented the M9 I was very underwhelmed. The M9 did have a larger screen than my M7, but it didn’t have many of the features that was presented in the new Samsung Galaxy S6. The M9 had a higher pixel camera, but online reviews stated the camera still took poor pictures. Also, there were reports of the M9 having heat issues, so HTC supposedly throttled the CPU of the phone to resolve it (and thus slowed it down).

The Samsung S6, had a slew of new features when compared to my HTC M7:

  • Wireless Charging
  • AMOLED Hi-Res 5.1″ Screen
  • Fingerprint Sensor
  • Heart Monitor Sensor
  • Camera which took excellent pictures
  • Metal and glass design
  • Thin and lightweight

The logical choice for me was to upgrade to the Samsung S6 over the HTC One M9. After trying out both devices at the AT&T store, that choice was firmly reinforced. So on April 10th, 2015 (launch day) I stopped by my local AT&T store and added the Samsung S6 to my Family Plan using the NEXT upgrade program.

I’ve had the S6 for two weeks now, and I love it. The screen is gorgeous, and I love the fingerprint sensor for unlocking the phone. The wireless charging is great for my home office and in my car. And now I can take good quality pictures with my smartphone. Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

